James’ 2nd full length album for Domino, was recorded with Kieran Hebden (a.k.a. 4tet).


1. Heron
2. Shipwreckers
3. Surf Song
4. Hermitage
5. Hotel
6. This Time Tomorrow
7. We Flew Blind
8. Banjo #1
9. Edward
10. Banjo #2
11. The Snow It Melts The Soonest

“Yorkston has reached a state of grace that writers can spend for ever trying to attain: songs that sound not so much written as carefully retrieved from your own subconcious, played with an intuition bordering on telepathy. What more could you ask for?” – 5/5 The Times

“An intelligent and beautifully crafted set of songs from a musician and lyricist of rare depth” – 5/5 Record Collector

“Yorkston has delivered no less than a masterpiece” – The Telegraph

“A masterpiece that could just become a timeless classic” – The Fly

“Just Beyond The River is another masterpiece” – Time Out

Order Just Beyond The River