(Autumn 2004)

James’ 2nd full length album for Domino, was recorded with Kieran Hebden (a.k.a. 4tet).

  • Heron
  • Shipwreckers
  • Surf Song
  • Hermitage
  • Hotel
  • This Time Tomorrow
  • We Flew Blind
  • Banjo #1
  • Edward
  • Banjo#2
  • The Snow It Melts The Soonest

“Yorkston has reached a state of grace that writers can spend for ever trying to attain: songs that sound not so much written as carefully retrieved from your own subconcious, played with an intuition bordering on telepathy. What more could you ask for?” – 5/5 The Times

“An intelligent and beautifully crafted set of songs from a musician and lyricist of rare depth” – 5/5 Record Collector

“Yorkston has delivered no less than a masterpiece” – The Telegraph

“A masterpiece that could just become a timeless classic” – The Fly

“Just Beyond The River is another masterpiece” – Time Out